How Do I Merge Two Google+ Pages?

Events Northern Ltd G+PageI noticed recently that I had two Google+ company pages and no idea how to merge them together.  I had the brand page which I had created some time back and post to as often as I can (see here – Events Northern Ltd Google+ page).  This has a small following, I have set the vanity URL, added a cover picture, about section and so forth.  Another ‘Local’ page then appeared which was auto created by Google and this had no content or followers, however this was showing as my verified page (with a small grey tick within a shield next to the page name).  I puzzled over this but after some digging on the internet I learnt that this is a common problem and that the two Google+ pages could become one, moving the benefits of a local page across to the established Google+ brand page.

This blog post outlines how I did it, although please note this isn’t a merge in a true sense of the word.  I hope this post helps you to solve this issue quickly and easily though!

Your local page must be verified in order to transplant the content.

  1. On your verified local page click the gear icon and select Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Profile section to where it says “This page is connected to Google Maps.”  Click the box that says ‘Connect to a Different Page.’
  3. You will be able to select the company brand page you would like to connect to Maps.  If you agree with the changes that will be made click Confirm.
  4. After you have followed this process the Local page will show as a Backup of the page.  If you would like to delete the local page completely go to that page and select Settings from the left hand menu.  Scroll to the bottom of the page and select ‘Delete page.’

Voila – you now have an “upgraded” brand page and verification, reviews, address information and the location verification pin/map will now be moved across to your company brand page.  This will gain more exposure for you.  I hope this post has been helpful.

IMPORTANT NOTES:  This process doesn’t merge the two pages so if you have developed followers and content on both pages you will lose this or need to copy it across manually.  For me this wasn’t an issue but it may be for you.  Deleting a page cannot be undone.

 

Are you active on Google+?  How do you find Google+ compares to the other social networks?  We think that the UK finally seems to be warming and seeing the positives of being active on G+ – do you agree?  We would love to read your comments below. 

We would also love to connect with you on Google+ and you can find us at: https://www.google.com/+EventsnorthernCoUk 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 + twenty =